COMPARE · AUGUST 2026

The software fee
is not the decision.

Everyone compares hospitality systems on the monthly price. For a pub taking £45,000 a month on card, the gap between the cheapest and dearest software here is £1,344 a year — and the gap between a good card rate and a poor one is £2,970. Here is the shape of the decision, worked from published prices.

Worked for a 25-staff, two-bar pub with one kitchen screen, £45,000 a month on card. Vendor prices observed 25 August 2026 on each vendor’s own UK pricing page; we re-check quarterly.

FIRST DECISION

Three shapes of system.
Pick the shape before the brand.

Almost every bad software purchase in this trade is a shape error, not a brand error — buying an all-in-one to solve one problem, or bolting a fourth specialist tool onto three you already re-key data between.

01

Rota-only

RotaCloud · Deputy · Rotaready · Planday · Bizimply

Scheduling, and usually clock-in, holidays and shift swaps. Priced per head almost without exception, which is the thing to understand about this shape: the bill grows every time you hire. Some charge time-and-attendance as an extra on top.

Buy this if your till is fine and the rota is what eats your week. It is the cheapest way to fix one specific problem, and the specialists are genuinely good at it.

The catch: it does not know what you took. Labour cost percentage needs a sales figure, so either you type takings in by hand every day or the number is a guess. And payroll is an export, not a run.

02

Till-only

Square · Lightspeed · Toast · Tabology · SumUp POS Pro · ICRTouch · Akru

Point of sale, and increasingly kitchen display and stock. Priced per venue or per terminal — and which of those it is matters more than the headline. Several of these make most of their money on card processing rather than software, which is why some of them are cheap or free.

Buy this if you are opening, or your till is genuinely the problem. You cannot trade without one, so it is the non-negotiable purchase.

The catch: of the eleven till systems we compared, only two advertise compliance records at all, and most hand rota and payroll to a third party. You will be buying something else as well.

03

All-in-one

Kobas · Hospitality App · parts of Zonal and Access at estate scale

Till, rota, clock-in, payroll, stock and compliance from one system. Priced per venue, which is the structural argument for it: the second till and the twenty-sixth staff member do not add to the bill.

Buy this if the joins are what is costing you — re-keying hours into payroll, not knowing last week’s labour percentage without building a spreadsheet, compliance records in a folder nobody opens.

The catch: if you only need one thing, you are paying for eleven. A specialist will usually beat an all-in-one at any single job. And integration risk concentrates: one vendor’s outage is now all of your systems.

THE WORKED EXAMPLE

What a 25-staff, two-bar pub
pays in year one.

Two tills, one kitchen screen, 25 staff, £45,000 a month on card. Built only from prices the vendor publishes on its own site — where a vendor publishes nothing, the row says so rather than guessing.

Software only, year one. Card processing and hardware are separate and are covered below.
SystemSoftware, year oneMade up ofWhat you still have to buy elsewhere
Hospitality App (ours)£2,388 +VATComplete Plus £199/venue. Two tills, kitchen screen, mobile ordering, table reservations, rota, clock-in, payroll, tronc, stock and compliance, all included. No per-terminal fee. Drop the kitchen screen and Complete covers the rest at £1,788.A card terminal. We have no integrated payments — staff key the amount into your own terminal.
SumUp POS Pro£1,044 excl VAT£49 base + £19 Hospitality module + £19 kitchen screen. Whether £49 covers a second till is not published — confirm in writing.Rota, payroll, compliance
Tabology£1,308 VAT basis not statedPro £59 + second till £39 + kitchen screen £11. Rota included at Pro.Payroll (export only), compliance
Square + Shifts£1,548 ex VATPlus £69/location, unlimited devices, plus Shifts at £3/head beyond the first five (20 chargeable × £3 = £60/month).Payroll (no UK first-party product), compliance
Kobas£1,668+ VAT basis not statedStarters £99 + kitchen screen £40. The rota is an add-on whose price is not published, so this figure is a floor. The all-inclusive tier is £369/month.Nothing, if you buy up — but you cannot price it from the website
Lightspeed£2,256 VAT basis not statedCore £149 (2 licences) + £39 third register. A licence is a device slot, so the kitchen screen consumes one.Rota, clock-in, payroll, compliance — no row for any of them at any tier
Epos Now · Toast · Zonal · ICRTouchNot publishedNone of these publish enough to build a year-one figure. Epos Now’s page has no tiers at all; Toast publishes floors; Zonal has no pricing page; ICRTouch sells only through dealers.Varies — ask

Square and SumUp state their VAT position. Tabology, Kobas and Lightspeed do not — a 20% swing on every figure in those rows. We are the dearest row here because the kitchen screen puts this spec on Complete Plus; that is the trade, and it is the reason to read the next section before the table.

THE LINE THAT DWARFS ALL OF IT

On the same
£45,000 a month.

  • £9,450 a year on Square’s published 1.75%.
  • £5,706 a year on Akru’s published 0.89% + 3p (£4,806 plus about £900 of transaction fees at an £18 average).
  • £6,480 a year if you hold your own acquirer at 1.2%.

Every software figure in the table above sits between £1,044 and £2,388. The card line moves by nearly three thousand pounds. If a till locks you to its payment processor, that lock is the expensive part of the deal — in either direction, because a low rate you cannot leave is still worth having.

DO IT FOR YOUR OWN PUB

The arithmetic,
so you can check ours.

Three sums. Do them before you shortlist anything, because they usually reorder the shortlist.

Then add hardware once. A one-bar setup is roughly £575–£865 ex VAT, and two bars with a kitchen printer about £1,476–£2,073 ex VAT. It is a real cost but it is the smallest of the four and it is paid once. Those figures assume a tablet; our till also runs on a touchscreen EPOS terminal or a PC running Windows 10 or 11 (64-bit), so if you already own one it can stay on the counter.

AT THE DEMO

Bring these questions
to every vendor.

The table above prices the shortlist. These are the questions that tell you whether a system fits the work.

What to ask, and where Hospitality App fits
AreaAsk each providerHospitality App
Rota & attendanceHow do availability, leave and recorded hours fit together?Essentials and above; advanced scheduling from Professional.
Daily checksCan the team record evidence and find tasks during a shift?Basic checklists in Essentials; full compliance from Professional.
PayrollHow are hours reviewed before preparing pay information?Included from Professional.
Till & stockDoes it suit your counter or table service and existing devices?Included from Complete.
Connected serviceDo you need staff mobile ordering, kitchen displays or table bookings?Included in Complete Plus, with floor plans.
Cost & team sizeWhat is the total cost per venue, and how many staff are included?£49–£199 per venue/month + VAT. Allowances: 10, 20 or 30 staff, depending on plan.

TEST IT AGAINST YOUR DAY

Use a real shift
as your checklist.

Bring your current workflow.

List the places you enter the same information twice, the tasks people miss and the reports you prepare by hand.

Try it with your team.

Use the trial to test a rota, daily checks and the service tools you need. Ask the people who will use it every day.

Check before you commit.

Confirm device compatibility, integrations, staff allowances, support and cancellation terms with each provider.

A NAMED COMPARISON

Weighing us up
against Epos Now?

A long, sourced comparison for UK pubs — what they are genuinely good at, the five things to check in their contract before you sign, and when they are the better buy.

FULL DISCLOSURE

We are one of
the options on this page.

Hospitality App is our product, and this page exists partly to sell it. So the useful thing we can do is be precise about when we are and are not the answer.

The shape wins on two axes only

One: per-venue pricing does not grow when you hire or add a till, whereas per-head and per-terminal pricing does. Two: the joins — hours flowing from clock to payroll without re-keying, labour percentage against real takings rather than a typed-in guess, compliance riding the shift checklist. If neither of those is your problem, a specialist will serve you better and probably cheaper.

Where we genuinely lose

We have no integrated card payments, so your staff key the amount into your own terminal. On a busy counter that is a real cost in seconds and in mis-keys, and if it matters most to you then Square, SumUp, Toast or Lightspeed are the better buy. We are a small company against incumbents with decades and thousands of reviews. We have no engineer who drives out to you. And our integration marketplace is thin.

Where the shape genuinely wins

A second till costs £0 in software, we are processor-agnostic so your card rate stays yours to negotiate, and the till, rota, payroll and compliance are one system rather than four that need reconciling.

And where to read the argument against us

The full version, with our own weaknesses listed under our own name and a table of the situations where a competitor is the better buy, is in the eleven-system comparison.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Choosing
a shape.

Do I need a rota system, a till, or an all-in-one?

Start from what you are actually short of. If your rota eats your week and the till works fine, buy a rota tool and keep the till. If you are opening and have nothing, buy the till first — you cannot trade without one. Buy an all-in-one when the joins start costing money: re-keying hours into payroll, not knowing last week’s labour percentage without a spreadsheet, compliance in a folder nobody opens. The mistake is buying an all-in-one to solve one problem and paying for eleven modules you never open.

What actually costs the most in year one?

Card processing, and it is not close. For a pub taking £45,000 a month, the spread across every software option we could price is about £1,344 a year. The spread between a 1.75% card rate and a 1.2% one is £2,970 — more than twice the software decision. If a till locks you to its own processor, that lock is worth more than the monthly fee.

Is an all-in-one always cheaper?

No, and in the worked example above we are the dearest row, because a kitchen screen puts that spec on Complete Plus. If you only need one thing, a specialist is usually cheaper and often better at it. All-in-one wins on two specific axes: you stop paying per-head or per-terminal fees as you grow, and you stop re-keying between systems. Square plus a per-head rota tool is £1,548 a year against our £2,388 — but that £1,548 still leaves payroll and compliance unbought, and its per-head part grows every time you hire, while £199 a venue does not.

What is a per-terminal fee and why does it matter?

Some vendors charge once per venue; others charge per till, per kitchen screen and sometimes per handheld. Published figures in this market run from about £15 to £39 a month per extra device. A two-bar pub with a kitchen screen has three screens, so the second and third can add several hundred pounds a year to an otherwise identical setup. It is the question most likely to reorder your shortlist, and it is almost never on the pricing page in plain terms.

How do I compare systems that will not publish a price?

Ask for the total contract value rather than the monthly figure — monthly fee times the full term, plus setup, plus any support plan on its own separate clock. Then ask what you pay to leave in month six. Vendors that do not publish pricing are not being disorganised; it is a commercial decision, and it means the first number you see will have been chosen for you after they know your turnover.

Where do these figures come from?

Vendors’ own live UK pricing pages, read on 25 August 2026, plus their published contracts where they have one. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the table says “not published” rather than repeating a review site’s number. The full methodology, including what we threw out and why, is on the eleven-system comparison. We re-check quarterly.

One venue.
Four starting points.

Choose Essentials for team organisation, Professional for fuller operational control, Complete for till and stock, or Complete Plus for connected ordering, kitchen and table management.

See the plan comparison ↗

TRY IT IN YOUR VENUE

Make room for
a clearer day.

Start your 30-day free trial ↗

No card needed. No setup fee.

Talk to the team ↗